Life after Erasmus

13576333_1062123580541296_156063983_n

Sat down in my old chair.

Been back home for a while now. Actually, been home then left again. I am sure that many people whom have experienced a study abroad program or even an internship away from home, have then felt such a urge to travel and discover more. That’s “hunger for travel”.

However, just wanted to write here, as it is supposed to be a documentation of my year abroad life yet missed writing a part of it, how my after Erasmus life went/goes.

My story begins a week before the actual departure starts. When we had our final party and everyone, more in the dizziness of the mojitos, was crying and hugging one another in the hopes that we will get to see each other in this life time apart from the Skype calls. And that last week was like a speed play of everything we planned to do in our year and thought we still had time. We didn’t.

Nonetheless, in just one week we managed to meet, have picnics and share our opinions about all that happened. And in that right moment we thought we will be indivisible, the crew is going to stand straight through all. One week after I left, another friend received an internship in Japan, some others have returned to the so missed friends and families, and others like me have planned to travel more. (Soon to be up)

And so, in my first week home I refused to go out and meet my friends, as I have myself read all over the internet that the “after life” is nice and dandy in the beginning but you get bored after and start comparing with the old one. Trying  to avoid that, even if I have missed them so much, I focused on my travels and the places where I was going.

But as I was starting to lose my hope, a friend of ours that lives in Britain payed a visit and I was so thrilled to take the turn in showing him places in my own town and being me the one that teaches him little secrets about my country.

By that I understood that it takes time, just like everything else, and the real friendships made were indeed a blessing and are going to last, it just not going to happen immediately.That we all are trying to move on and grow, but that doesn’t mean that in time we are not going to meet and now, speaking for myself, I was lucky enough to not know the people from my on country that were there with me, which means extra friends back home, with the same Erasmus memories as myself.

13576380_1062123517207969_1547768370_n.jpg

Leave a Reply

