You think you know English?

image

As a person who studies English ever since I can remember, I thought I can actually put words into sentences and make something coherent. This sort of confidence was brought to me by teachers and all sorts of lost foreigners searching for museums.

My thoughts and my confidence were to be shaken when I landed in the UK.

At first the ACCENT hits me. Nothing bad, all lovely. Who doesn’t like a British accent? Quoting one of my teachers: “What accent?” (think about that one). But then ACCENTS happened. And I didn’t knew whether that is English, what I say is English or every thing I have learned was a lie. It gets better after a while, until of course another one comes along.

The worst part, however, is the slang. A tricky game. In the first part of the conversation laugh if they do. In the second one try harder to understand the context. Maybe even put some sign language reading skills at work.

And if by this time you’re still lost, back up into a corner, search for WiFi and Google it! Because the whole conversation might sound pleasant but they have such lovely words for such dirty talks.

By no means do I say that my English is perfect. Far away from that. Nonetheless, is a clear fact that the Brits have it their own way.

3 thoughts on “You think you know English?

Leave a Reply

